January: A reflection

31 days have passed in 2013. There have been 31 selfies taken of each of us, individually or together. We have crossed the continent and the even the globe to capture our most defining moments of the day. And what do we have to show for it? A lot of really great photos!

Here are some things I have learned about selfies over the last 31 days:
1. Embrace it, there’s no room for embarrassment: Whether you like it or not, there is a stigma around taking selfies. Regardless of whether you are in public place or on your own, there is a sense of awkwardness that you are vain enough to take a photo of yourself. Shame on those who think that! There is nothing more satisfying than owning the experience from start to finish. There is no room for self-consciousness in selfying.

2. Taking a selfie is like a present, you don’t know how it will look until after the moment has passed. In a time when public image is so tailored, embrace the unexpected. Which brings me to my next point…

3. Always be ready to go: you never know when your most defining moment of the day is, so have your camera ready to selfie at all times.

4. The side clicker on the iPhone is your friend: I didn’t learn until most of the way through the month, after many failed attempts, that there are more ways than just pressing the arbitrary photo capture button on the home screen. The + button on the side of the phone serves the same purpose! Who knew?

5. Selfying is always more fun with a friend: thanks for the visits, mom and Nance!

Happy selfying, and here’s to 11 fantastic more months.

One thought on “January: A reflection

  1. I must admit that I feel totally vain and boring as I take my daily selfie. I have trouble finding the defining moment each day but I love seeing yours! It’s a daily high point so thank you to my girls for inviting me along for this journey! I love so much you.

Leave a Reply

